Exploring Franschoek

Franschhoek Valley, South Africa. Need to go here and trace my family. Hugeunots.:

Franschoek is an absolute gem of the Western Cape in South Africa.

French influences and boutique lined streets make the town an antiquated jewel worthy of exploration and day dreams because it seriously feels like Europe.

My family and I spent 6 hours in the town walking the gallery lined streets and pondering the art. The art scene in Franschoek is unparalleled showcasing brilliant local artists and sculptors whose works sit pretty in minimal interiors .One such artist I thoroughly enjoyed viewing was Zimbabwean born artist, Makiwa Mutomba.

Image result for makiwa art gallery

IMG_0585[1]

makiwa.jpg

I got incredible insight to the world of painting – a world I’m not very familiar with which made it all the more enjoyable. Makiwa himself uses a paint scraper and not a brush which is mind-blowing considering looking at it – you wouldn’t  think that one scraped some paint on a canvas. Just like that . I suppose he didn’t do it “just like that”

Take a look at what I mean

How gorgeous…

After savouring the art scene – we needed some food to much on which was actually a hard thing since there was so much choice. However , we eventually settled on one in a square surrounded by the norm in Franschoek that is boutiques and art galleries.

Are we in Europe? Nope, it's Franschhoek, South Africa, in the winelands that produce some of the world's best vintages. Plan your trip today at www.TheTripStudio.com:

I tucked into a gourmet chicken burger and accompanied it with a traditional pot of Rooibos tea with lemon.

Image result for gourmet chicken burger

Plus a sweet delight in the form of a decadent brownie. Yum.

Of course there’s a time to leave which was a bitter-sweet moment as I wanted to stay for at least 3 days but NEXT TIME.

So in the spirit of exploring and consoling ourselves from leaving this beautiful place,we took a scenic drive out  and we came across the Huguenot memorial which beautifully stands just outside the Main Street.

Image result for franschhoek

And from there we took the main road out onto the lovely and truly spectacular Franschoek pass…Here I am – soaking in the sun and view from the iconic Franschoek mountain pass.IMG_0550[1]

img_07041.png

Its a bit nippy in out there probably due to some current as is always the case in the Western Cape. So a long sleeve is definitely in order. I got a trusty striped one because I’m cheesy and stripes are French and styled with a floral kaftan as I particularly love the look of stripes and flowers. As I knew I was going to be walking – stylish but functional mom jeans were perfect as the high waist is  comfortable plus you don’t have to add a belt and keep hiking them up. A good pair of pumps like lace up ones ensures your look is put together.

I am definitely going to go  back and head out to the wine farms and check in for a weekend. Mont Rochelle owned by Sir Richard Branson is on top of my list.

3
http://www.virginlimitededition.com/en/mont-rochelle/gallery

Imagine that?

Until then,

Franschoek Blessings,

The Fofafist

Leave a Reply

